Golf Coaches Association of Wisconsin Scholarship

2017 Scholarship Winners:


1st Place ($1000) – Grace Stippich, Kettle Moraine

1st Runner-up ($750) – Jessica Kuzniewski, Waukesha West

2nd Runners-up ($500)

  • Brooke Marcue, Lancaster
  • Megan Russell, New Berlin Eisenhower
  • Reagan Beyer, Oshkosh West


1st Place ($1000) – Jameson Rubenzer, Elk Mound

1st Runner-up ($750) – Peter Dorward, Cedarburg

2nd Runners-up ($500)

  • Jason Jaworski, Wausaukee
  • Jacob Michel, Lodi
  • Alex Brandt, Chilton

The Golf Coaches Association of Wisconsin is offering scholarship awards to Wisconsin high school female golfers and Wisconsin high school male golfers. Depending on the applications we receive, our hope is to award one female and one male our top scholarship, both in the amount of $1000. We also hope to award at least one female and one male a $500 runner-up scholarship. The GCAW may also opt to award more runner-up scholarships ($500), depending on the quality of the applicants.

  1. Must be (or have been) a member of a high school golf team for four years.  Committee will consider exceptions on a case by case basis.
  2. Must be a senior in high school, graduating in the spring of 2017.
  3. Must be attending a college, university, or technical school the following school year.
  4. The coach of the high school golf team must be a member of the Golf Coaches Association of Wisconsin. A letter of recommendation from your golf coach is an important part of this application.
  5. Must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.75 based on an unweighted grading system. Students with an official IEP may be exempt from this requirement upon proof of disability.

The GCAW Scholarship Committee will be looking for proof of:

  1. Dedication, commitment, and work ethic.
  2. Excellence in areas of service, citizenship, character, and leadership.
  3. Excellence in academics and depth of curriculum.

Please note that the GCAW will not discriminate based on race, religion, ethnicity, disability, or any other protected class. The GCAW will maintain case histories of all applicants and all recipients, which will include names, addresses, selection committee names, and relationship (if any) to our GCAW officers or donors.

*This scholarship is not in any way based on high school golf performance or potential for future golf success.
*No student who is an immediate relative of a member of the Board of the GCAW will be eligible for the scholarship award, regardless if he or she meets all of the requirements.
*If the winner of this scholarship is attending college on any form of a golf scholarship, they will need to check with their college coach and the NCAA for approval before accepting this scholarship

Please note that the application, along with all other required information, is due no later than May 26th, 2017. The winners of the Scholarship will be announced at our GCAW Summer Clinic on June 20th. The scholarship winners will be informed via email, and our winners will also be posted on the GCAW website soon after the GCAW Summer Clinic, which is scheduled for June 26th.

2017 GCAW Scholarship Application

2016 GCAW Scholarship Recipients 


1st Place ($1000) – Amy Holzer, Hartford

Runners-up ($500 each):
  • Rachel Anderson, Waunakee
  • Amanda Egbert, Kohler
  • Heather Hammil, Milton
  • Bailey Schmidt, Gale Ettrick Trempealeau

1st Place ($1000) – Brady Sarauer, St. Marys Springs

Runners-up ($500 each):

  • Hunter Gage, Marathon
  • Mathew Pamperin, Onalaska Lutheran
  • Stephen Quakkelaar, Mukwonago
  • Taylor Thomas, SPASH



2015 GCAW Scholarship Winners

1st Place ($1000) – Sheridan McCoy, LaCrosse Aquinas

Runners-up ($500 each):

  • Abigail Chase, Beaver Dam
  • Riley Gulbronson, Kaukauna
  • Kayla Priebe, Fox Valley Lutheran
  • Rachel Thornton, Middleton

1st Place ($1000) – Charles L’Allier, New Richmond

Runners-up ($500 each):

  • Jackson Eversoll, McFarland
  • Ryan Frank, Fox Valley Lutheran
  • Nick Shortreed, Mukwonago
  • Samuel Soda, Princeton


2014 GCAW Scholarship Winners

1st Place ($1000)- Sienna Chapman, Prairie School, Coach Carrie Massey

3 Runners-up ($500 each):
Arianna Day, Platteville HS, Coach John Sponsler,
Marissa Ellner, Pulaski HS, Coach Sarah Kohls
Amanda Fiorentino, West Bend Schools, Coach Andrea Rodenkirch

1st Place ($1000) – Michael Tenuto, Kenosha St. Josephs, Coach Bob Karnes

3 Runners-up ($500 each):
Zach Hentrich, Lancaster HS, Coach Brad Sturmer
Jacob Linse, Jefferson HS, Coach Jeff Schmidt
Robert Shlimovetz, Portage HS, Coach Ed Carlson

We had 25 high school seniors apply for this scholarship, and the competition was quite tough. A big congratulations to all of our applicants and our winners. We do know that each of you, all with an excellent background in golf, will be a big success.

2013 GCAW Scholarship Winners

$1000 scholarship – Stephanie Baribeau, Rice Lake (head coach: Tom Germanson)
$500 scholarship – Carly Vanderheyden, Notre Dame Academy (head coach: Brian Bobinski)

$1000 scholarship – David Holzer, Hartford (head coach: Jon Lonergan)
$500 scholarship – Mitch Toso, Monona Grove (head coach: Mark Esch)