Hall of Fame

Golf Coaches Association of Wisconsin Hall of Fame Award

Hall of Fame nominees should include individuals who have raised the level of awareness of junior/high school golf through their distinguished achievement and excellence.

A coach will be considered primarily for his or her achievements in varsity coaching only. Nominees must exemplify the highest standards of sportsmanship, ethical conduct and moral character. To be eligible for nomination, the Committee recommends the individual has served as a varsity coach for a minimum of 15 years.

All nominees will be evaluated on their significant and/or long-term contributions to junior/high school golf, as well as to their schools and communities over a long and distinguished career. In addition, their accomplishments must be worthy of statewide recognition for them to be considered.  Longevity, without meaningful statewide impact, (regional, sectional and state performance) does not constitute appropriate credentials for Hall of Fame consideration. The Hall of Fame Committee will consider a nominee’s total record of contribution to junior and high school golf in determining eligibility for candidacy and not just his/her record of service.

The Committee may waive the minimum years of service requirement when exceptional circumstances occur.

The applicant must be nominated using the form on the web site by Feb. 1. We strongly encourage that letters of recommendation be submitted from former players, administration or fellow coaches. Click here to nominate someone.

Year Inducted Hall of Fame Member School
2015 Bob Anderson Mukwonago
Dave Blake Hayward
Rick Pladziewicz Mount Horeb
2014 Steve Peterson Wisconsin Rapids
2013 Rollie Christensen Northland Pines
2012 Mike Duchin Kettle Moraine
Dick McKichen Platteville
Gary Oftedahl McFarland
Tom Tallmadge Arrowhead
2011 Chuck Menzel Green Bay Preble
2010 Dewey Stendahl  Middleton
2009 Bill Ehren Luxemburg-Casco
2008 T.J. Dieck Milton
2006 Don Marx Madison Memorial
2005 Lee Kaczmarek Waukesha South
2004 Singh Grewel Sparta
Joan Olson Sparta
2003 Mardel Allen LaCrosse Central
Joe Harlow Kewaskum
2002 Ted Devine Ashwaubenon
Linda Mills Onalaska
2001 Mary Beth Nienhaus Appleton West
Gayle Wilfong Fond du Lac Goodrich
2000 Stu Anderson Oconto Falls
Rod Hanson Lodi
1998 Al Forsythe South Milwaukee
Paul Naumann Brookfield Central
1997 Everett Edmunson Burlington
Roger Wiebe Madison West
1993 Erv Benka Hartford Union
Andy LeBarbera Marinette
Mert Wulf Lancaster
1991 John R. Ashenfelter Janesville Craig
Ted Callis Madison East
Ken Check Eagle River
Greg Shimanski Madison Edgewood
Hugh Stewar Racine Horlick
Leo K. Kerschitz Union Grove
1990 Clark Byam Madison West
Nate DeLong Hayward
Harry Max Milwaukee Pulaski
Hal Metzen Lake Mills
Gil Rodencal Oconto Falls/Sauk Prairie
John Thomas Rice Lake
Richard Woerfel Cudahy